Australian Police Cars
Australian Police Cars
Police and Emergency Vehicle Forums

help a yank?

Any discussion regarding police vehicles.

Moderator: Richmeister

help a yank?

Postby pevrs114 » Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:53 am

Greetings gentlemen,

I have been doing some research, attempting to find a product for my personal pickup truck, and thought y'all might be able to help...

I own a 2002 Toyota Tacoma (American version of Hilux), and I am trying to find a police-style radio console for in between the two front bucket seats. I am a volunteer firefighter/emt, and have a few radios I would like to mount in the cab of the truck. In the states, nobody uses Toyota Tacomas for police or emergency vehicles, but browsing y'alls picture collection, I can see they are in widespread use in Australia. Also, when I was deployed with the US Army to Iraq, I saw many Hilux's being used in government capacities.

The police supply magazines in the states have plenty of consoles and accessories for our standard complement of vehicles - Ford Crown Victoria, Chevrolet Impala, Chevrolet Tahoe/Suburban, Ford Explorer/Expedition, even the Jeep Cherokee, but no Toyotas. Can anyone be so kind as to point me in the direction of a supplier of quality radio consoles to fit the Toyota Hilux? I could hobble together a "universal mount" console, but the fit and finish most likely would be poor, and I'd rather not pay the high costs to have a console custom built.

Thanks again, and excellent site... If anyone is interested in seeing some pictures of American police or fire/rescue vehicles, just let me know and I'll go take some.

Til then, here's a picture of my truck...

pevrs114

Console

Postby rgg066 » Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:46 am

Australian Police Forces collectively run a relativey small fleet in total. (when compared to the US) Not all states here even use the Hilux.